Governance and Scheme of Delegation

The Generations Multi Academy Trust is a company limited by guarantee and a charitable trust. Responsibility for the academies that make up the trust and for the funds granted by Parliament for providing education in those academies is entrusted to the Board of Trustees.

These Trustees are also the Directors of the company. Much of the work of the Board is delegated to committees; in particular there is a separate committee for each of the academies which works as an Local Academy Board (LAB).

The other Board sub-committees are:

  • Resources and Workforce Development
  • Standards & Achievement
  • Pastoral

Local Academy  Boards debate key matters at school level and pass their recommendations up to the Board, via each committee, for discussion and ratification. Read more about Goffs Local Academy Body here.  

The Trust provides strategic oversight of financial control and strategy through the Chief Financial Officer, the Resources and Workforce Development and the main Trust Board. The Trust’s finances are externally audited on an annual basis.


The role of the Trustees is to provide a strategic view of all academies in the Trust, to ensure accountability and to be a critical friend. The Trustees are responsible for the overall direction of the School.

The Board of Trustees is not responsible for day to day matters within school which is the responsibility of the Principal. Trustees also set and monitor targets, the school budget and the effectiveness of policies to ensure all students have a broad and balanced curriculum.

The Chair of the Trustees is Mr Andrew Clarke and can be contacted via:

Position Name
Chair of Trustees/ Member/ Chair of Personnel Mr Andrew Clarke
Vice Chair of Trustees/ Member/ Chair of Resources and Workforce Development Mr John Gillen
Member Mr John Attard
Member Mrs Nadia Davies
Trustee / Chair of Pastoral / Chair of Goffs - Churchgate LAB Mr Martin Jackson
Trustee / Chair of Standards & Achievements Mrs Jean Holt
Trustee / Executive Principal Ms Alison Garner
Trustee / Chair of Goffs - Churchgate LAB Mrs Joanna Formoso
Trustee Mrs Francoise Grote
Trustee Mrs Laura Huseyin
Trustee Mr John O'Sullivan
Trustee Mrs Kathy Dunnett
Trustee  Mrs Lisa Clowes
Trustee  Ms Donna cooper
Trustee Miss Vanessa Wright
Trustee Mr Ian Fish
Trustee  Mr Patrick Philpott


Goffs Academy Governing Body 2017 - 18

Chair – Andrew Clarke
Vice Chair - John Gillen

Committee Memberships

Generations Educational Trust 2017-18

Generations educational trust 2017 18

Business Interests

  • 2017/18 Trustee business interests - None declared
  • Jean Holt - Company Director
  • Joanna Formoso - Company Director
  • Kathy Dunnett - Employee of Herts For Learning
  • Kathy Dunnett - Governor of Primary / Secondary & Special School
  • 2017/18 Trustee financial interests - None declared
  • 2017/18 Trustee roles in other schools - None declared